"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Making students study the same national curriculum until they enter college is not entirely a bad idea on its own. With a similar national curriculum, students could learn and enjoy an all-inclusive learning process together. However, this idea leaves too many lapses for it to be highly desirable or practicable.

First and foremost, the education and learning process should be an interesting and enjoyable experience for students, both individually and collectively. Therefore, if students are given the same national curriculum to follow until they enter college this main result in disinterestedness for many students. The learning process might become jejune and unsavory for some peculiar students with distinctive abilities.

More so, the formative years of students are keen and more or less the best time to "catch them young". And a national curriculum that follows the same study pattern might not be comprehensive enough to cater to the diversities and innate potential of every student. For instance, students who are naturally gifted in particular disciplines, say sciences, might be limited in the scope of their learning in pre-college days or even struggle with learning all through those years.

Another potential bane of this idea is that if students have to wait until college before they are allowed to choose their study paths, it might present a major setback for the kind of ingenuity that fosters innovations in a nation. Therefore, students will most probably be limited in their scope of learning, exposition and exploration until college.

Like the popular saying that variety is the spice of life, having varying study curricula to accommodate different innate abilities and potential of pre-college students will do more harm than good. The students will be able to express and developed their cognitive thinking and creative mind as soon as possible in their education.