A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Nowadays, whether a nation should require all its students to study the same curriculum until they enter the college or not is one of the most controversial topics. some says that a unified, well-made national curriculum before college entrance to teach the students the most important things while the others argue that this strategy is somewhat ineffective in some circumstances.

Admittedly, requiring a same national curriculum to every student sometimes has disadvantages. Let me give an example of gifted schools, which are made a lot during present days. students sometimes have their natural abilities, or gifts. In gifted schools, they can grow the abilities since when they are young. those gifted schools have different curriculums from the national curriculum which most of the public schools have. there, instead of learning those basic things, students use more time to improve their special gifts. thus, using this example, some people say that the nation must not force all the students to follow a national curriculum.

however, there are some reasons why we still need a national curriculum that every student has to follow. The biggest reason is that there are essential things students have to learn. For instance, students have to learn logical thinking from mathematics classes and conversational skills from language classes. those are the things students must learn to live their own lives when they grow up. thus, these things have to be taught before college entrance, and pushing students to follow the national curriculum is a good way to make sure that the students all learn those things.

Moreover, it comes out with the best efficiency. when making a national curriculum, it is most likely to be done by the best experts. they will do their best in order to make the best curriculum. however, if each school make their own curriculum, or each teacher make their own, then they might make courses no better than the national curriculum made by the best experts. thus, to make the best results with the lowest cost, making one great national curriculum is better than giving each school or teacher the responsibility for making curriculums.

Lastly, students can still improve their own abilities by extracurricular activities. even if every student will learn the same thing during the school time, students will still be able to learn things of their own interests during the extracurricular activity times. Also, they can further study or investigate their major fields after entering college. Therefore, pushing students to follow one national curriculum does not prevent them from improving their personal skills.

like this, the nation's need for the students to follow the unified curriculum before college entrance is helpful for its students. even if I agree that personalized curriculums are good for gifted students, since there are many advantages of following a national curriculum, I strongly agree with the statement.