A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

This is essay will outline the advantages of having the same curriculum throughout the country for all students till they enter college. The various pros of having one curriculum are that it provides a sense of uniformity and also makes it easy for the country to conduct examinations and evaluate students.

The most important advantage of adopting a single curriculum throughout the country is that it makes the education system throughout the country uniform. For a student who had to relocate for some reason to a different state, he would find the transition seamless to any school, as the core principles of the syllabus remain virtually identical. Moreover, students would be able to compare themselves with their friends, cousins, etc and there would not be any disparity. It would show a student roughly where he stands when compared to the rest of the country. Which would enable them to push themselves to put in more effort if necessary. It also would be easier for colleges to evaluate candidates as the exams would be standardized.

Furthermore, an advantage would be it would make it easier for the government to conduct exams, which would reduce the budget set aside towards this as it is more efficient to conduct one exam rather than a myriad of different exams. This would make it easier to recruit teachers as they can be trained extensively in one curriculum and it would make it easier for the teachers to move schools for a number of reasons

A possible counter-argument to having the same national curriculum would be this would eliminate the chance of crafting different curriculums that cater to the wide variety of students. As it is a well-known fact that all students are not the same and that they respond differently to different education styles. Having different curriculums would enable students to pick a particular one that they feel suits their attributes the best. Having the option of students picking which subjects they want to study and when they want to study that particular subject would most likely boost their performance.

In conclusion, the advantages of having the same curriculum throughout the nation has more advantages than disadvantages and hence it seems logical to adopt this in change in the education