A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Diversity of skills and thought is what allows us to progress forward. Although at first glance a nation requiring all of its students to study the same national curriculum before they enter college appears to foster an environment of inclusion, in reality it can cause adverse affects. In this essay. I aim to argue that a nation should not require students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college because this idea fails to recognize different learning styles, it does not allow students to specialize, and ultimately stunts the progress of a country.

Requiring students to learn the same national curriculum fails to recognize different learning styles and abilities. I agree that there are certain things that everyone should learn, however, there needs to be flexibility in a curriculum allowing for a diverse education that recongnizes the culutral needs of different parts of the nation. Some parts of the country may have cultural factors that influence their history and it is important for those to be included into that areas curriculum. Enforcing the same curriculum can cause important education to be lost. Additonally some students may have stronger abilities to learn one subject than others. It is unfair to both students with stronger and weaker abilities to be tied to the same curriculum. One uniform curriculim moves at a pace too fast for those with weaker abilities in the subject causing them to fall behind and not receive the help they need. Similarly, it holds back the students stronger in that subject causing them to become bored. In this case, having one national curriculum does more harm than good.

Some primary and secondary schools are allowed to specialize depending on a student's skills or inerests. This allows stuudents to grow stronger in their abilities, allowing for them to be more prepared for their future education and career decisions. For example, some students are drawn to the performing arts at a young age, if students are not able to specialize from a young age it may prevent them from pursuing their passion in the future, or may prevent them from reaching their full potential. Students should be allowed to explore different specialties at a younger age and fine tune their abilities as they grow. A student forced on law should be able to learn more about the field from a younger age. Magnet (specialized) programs that allow students to pursue their passions have proven to make students excel in their future.

Some people argue that requiring students to study the same national curriculum prevents students from being left behind. They argue that it makes sure that all students have learned the same material and have a background that prepares them for University. However, in order for society to progress, it is important that diversity of thought and skills is fostered at a young age. The world is always changing, therefore new solutions are needed. Without encouragement to diversify education from a young age, students are likely to become stagnant and too similar, preventing new ideas from growing. Lack of new ideas prevents the innovative solutions needed for a nation's success from becoming a reality.

To close, in this essay I proved that a nation should not require students to study the same national curriculum to enter college as it fails to recognize different learning styles, it does not allow students to specialize, and ultimately stunts the progress of a country.