“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students are a nation's greatest asset as said by many prominent people and great world leaders. So it is important they get the best and quality education. The prompt suggests that students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly disagree with this prompt for the following two reasons.

Firstly, students should be allowed various curriculums so that they know their interests and passions are. Restricting them to a particular curriculum may inhibit their growth in a particular field. For instance if a particular student may be good at historical analysis and he is not taught anything related to that subject in the years before he enters college he may find it difficult to understand especially if he is going to a foreign university where students already studied about this in school. Like how many great scholars said if you put a fish in a test of flying instead of swimming it is destined to fail.

Secondly , Students from certain regions may speak different dilects and languages. So restraining them into a national uniform curriculum may make them loose touch to their language and culture. For instance in India there are more than 1600 languages and dilects so if the government puts a national curiculum students will not be able to learn their regional language. That is why in India there is the option of the regional curriculum as well. So students with particular interest in their culture and language may not be enthusiastic about their curriculum.

However, the upside to having a common curriculum for all students across the country is that they will not miss out on anything that other students in the country studied in their schools. Hence making it easy for colleges to make their curriculum as they would not have to teach the basics to every student for every subject that they may provide. It also makes it easy for students to apply to varipous colleges across the country.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers to the statement mentioned. Students should be allowed to follow their interest and passion so that they can properly nurture and grow their interests and skills. They should also be provided with the opportunity to keep in touch with their roots and culture in the primary and secondary educatiuon. However a certain uniformity in curriculum is also required in order for the smooth functioning of the education system in the country which will also be beneficial to the students.