“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author here claims that every student of the country until senior secondary should have the same curriculum. I partially agree to this claim of a common curriculum.

Any nation's progress is determined by how well equipped the youth of the nation are. Having a common curriculum for the entire nation seems like a good idea at first. This is because having a common curriculum will have every student at par with their peers. Furthermore, the opputunity that every student will get will be irrespective of their background. For example, considering a diverse country like India where the population is so distributed, having a common curriculum may be a boon for a lot of students from remote areas who do not have that easy access to resources. This will allow the students from remote and educationally weak background students to have a chance to be at par with students from cities. Additionally, there will not be any discussions on regional issues but rather national issues can be included in the curriculum for larger inclusivity.

However, the common curriculum will rather end up in creating a lot of issues rather than solving them. Firstly, similar to the previous example, considering a country like India, there will be huge debates on whether to include regional issues and history onto the curriculum, and if yes, which regional history should be given priority as not all regional history can be included. Bigger and economically forward states will have a say in this and may sideline the smaller states in this matter. This may lead to more disharmony in the country. Secondly, for students to be competent, they will need to be informed about the place where they come from. If regional history is omitted from the national curriculum, the students may not understand the larger picture. For students to get a clear picture of any issue, it has to start from the grassroots level.

In conclusion, I am not saying not to have a national curriculum, but rather have a nation wide common curriculum for the competencies that are needed for the future of the youth and a region specific curriculum for subjects like history. This way all students are at par and are ready with the skillsets required for the future as well as have sense of belonging to this nation and understand their background and history.