A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A nation will only strive if it can look back on the investment directed towards education and development since the leaders of tomorrow are the today students. I do mostly agree with the assertion that pupils need to have a structured curriculum of coursework in two reasons. I, however, do concede that education should be homogenous in nature.

Firstly, having a regimented form of education will serve as a mean of adequately supervising the progress made by students. This nature of educating children tends to influence the manner in which students will be assessed. For instance, in the West African countries like Ghana and Nigeria, a common examination council was set up to provide a standardized examination to all students at a certain level. Devoid of such a platform will rend these countries effort in examining students futile. Consequently, the results of students are collated and informs various stakeholders on the progress being made by schools and government at large.

Again, adopting a commonly used academic format nationwide will ensure a common ground for students to compete amongst themselves. Competition to an extent prepares students to be prepared. In a global village where everything is fast paced, it is only normal to instill a sense of challenge and competition among students. In the same vein, it is necessary to adopt the same subjects in order to be able to award and recognize hardworking students. A typical example is the 2022 spelling bee competition.

Nonetheless, in doing these, it is worthy to note that engaging students with a structured educational module will curb the sense of promoting soft skills like teamwork. Diversity in education is a beautiful thing, and so, why wait to promote diversity in educational curriculum during the college days of students. Extant literature has it that, at the development stages of a child, the mind is ready to learn and explore. And so, having an academic structure that allows diversity and interdisciplinary module will expose students to many choices. Afterall, a life is not life without choices.