a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Learning is a very beautiful experience. A learner is exposed to fundamental and cultural values, even exploring their own potentials and limitless capabilities, the value of learning and education cannot be overemphasized. The prompt says that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my own opinion, I strongly agree to this following these three main reasons.

Firstly, culture and values of a nation are often times embedded in its national curriculum. Having to specialize at an early stage without complete access to all fields covered in the national curriculum might elude a learner of the knowledge of his/her culture and values expected them from the society and nation at large. An example is the historical scientist Van der waals who had founded the light bulb in 1980. Going by his passion for science, his mother had him enrolled on time into the science department. He was made to relocate very early from his country going by the earthquate which affected their little country of Mauritanius. Van der waals returned home after fifty years of being away and quite unfortunate that all his accomplishments were given away in recognition of the country he had sought assylum. Would you rather give honour to your own country and recognitioms of your accomplishments be done in honour of your country than another? Obviously yes, a lack of knowledge of one's own cultural and societal values is a strong force that xould even elude one of his/her brthright. A national curriculum is often time equipped with an all round knowledge promoting culture and values that could promote self-awareness and belonging to a society.

Secondly, a national curriculum takes into account all spheres of discipline, this equip a learner of all fields and often time promotes the ability to make a good choice in specialization. For instance, Abraham Lincoln, the American 17th President, was an accountant who never envisioned his involvement in politics. Giving his inauguration speech, he gave accolades to the nationa curriculum which had fostered hs background understanding of politics and hence a major foundation for his involvement in politics. Woud you rather restrict yourself to just one discipline through early specialisation and miss all of your opportunities coming form the other disciplines? Absolutely no, we as humans are built with a competitive spirit that of ten time inform our choices to harness all forms of opportunities that comes our ways. We all want to be given the opportunity to have a background knowledge in all fields before specialisation.

Thirdly, the job market favours whoever has the required skills and bacground knowledge to properly execute the job. Having to undergo training at all fields initially, promotes employability of an individual. For instance, a man who had studied accounting but had also taken courses in education, while waiting for his choice job will easily diverge to education and thus have an edge in the abour market than one who has no experience other than accounting; his field of study and specialisation.

It is very easy for some others to argue that exposing a child to a full curriculum is like increasing that child's workload with unnecessary subjects to bother with. But I am quick to remind that in the formative years, a child's brain is trained to develop and adapt easily to the what he/she is exposed to, further developing the child's mental capacity. A student of course, should be encouraged to undergo a full curriculum as that presented by the national curriculum before attending college.