A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extend to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. A mandated national curriculum fails to address cultural and geographical diversity and neglects to address students' preferred learning styles, interests, and talents.

First of all, a homogenous national curriculum neglects to address that culture may vary in different areas across a nation. If different curriculums are permitted, teachers and schools can adjust the subjects and topics taught to students in order to promote different cultural interests. For instance, in Canada, the province of Quebec was historically a French colony, whereas the rest of the provinces were historically an English colony. As a result, the culture greatly varies and thus, the curriculum varies too. As an example, most Quebec citizens speak French in their day-to-day lives and thus, Quebecois schools also teach in French. On the other hand, other citizens of other provinces tend to use English as their main language and, thus schools in these provinces teach in English.

In addition to neglecting cultural differences, mandating the same national curriculum fails to address geographical differences. For instance, different provinces in Canada have different histories, and teach these in schools. In British Columbia, students are taught about Japanese internment during WWII since much of it occurred in the province. Other provinces focus on other aspects of WWII that occurred in their provinces. By allowing each province to teach their own histories, students are taught not only about their own nation's history but also about their own province's distinct identity.

Continuing on, every student thrives under different methods of teaching and mandating the same national curriculum fails to address these differences. For instance, studies have shown that Montessori or self-guided learning is more effective for certain students. There are also enriched programs in schools for students who accelerate in certain subjects. By mandating the same curriculum, schools will not be able to tailor their curriculums to ensure that their students are being taught in a style that best suits each of them individually.

Students also have different interests and talents, and a homogenous national curriculum would prevent certain students from pursuing their passions. Currently, in most high schools, electives are provided to allow students to pursue their unique interests. A national curriculum may not allow students to pursue more niche interests such as a certain language or type of instrument, thus preventing them from developing skills at a young age. Studies have shown that learning certain languages or instruments becomes more difficult as one ages, and thus highlights the importance of beginning the development of these skills from a young age. By mandating the same national curriculum, a nation will in turn neglect talents and interests of their students.

Those who believe that students should all study the same national curriculum may believe that this method promotes fairness or equality. However, it is important to remember the difference between equality (defined as providing the same resources to each person) versus equity (defined as providing each person with enough resources so they may achieve the same outcome). By providing the same national curriculum, the nation may be able to achieve equality by providing the same education to each student. However, the nation can only achieve equity by allowing teachers and schools to tailor their curriculums by both taking into account geographical and cultural considerations and also each individual student's preferred learning style, interests and talents.