A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A rigid nation-wide curriculum should not be enforced upon school students. On the contrary, school students should be allowed to choose their area of specialization and spend some time exploring it in depth before they enter college.

Today's school curriculi are designed to teach students all of a plethora of different disciplines before they step into college. As the famous saying goes, a typical high schooler is often the jack of all trades and the master of none. By the time most children reach the age of 16 years, they have a broad idea of what fields they prefer and what they abhor. For instance, many students study History and Political Sciences with disdain - they would instead prefer performing interesting experiments in the Chemistry Lab. Others might want to be immersed all day in Literature, and stay as far away from Mathematics as possible. However, since the school curriculum forces the child to study to study all subjects, all these endeavours are seldom possible.

Going further, colleges also have a tough time setting their entrance tests. For example, an institution that specializes in Physics would have to set problems testing the student's aptitude in Biology and English, just because focussing on just one subject would disadvantage the broad spectrum of students taking the test. Hence, letting school students specialize before joining college would ease the testing procedure for colleges, and also help them select more motivated and knowledgeable students.

However, the school student should not be let to decide his or her specialization at a nascent stage. For instance, a first grade student who has just watched Interstellar would readily opt for becoming an Astronomer, without knowing anything about the area. Simliarly, we should excercise caution while letting students decide their course of study lest there would form multiple separated study groups in school, who do not interact socially with one another.

Therefore, if we want our young, fresh minds at school to become productive and transform into better citizens who contribute timely to the society, we should encourage variability in the curriculi of school students across the nation.