A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Childhood and teenage years is probably the only period in our lives when we do not have too many responsibilities and can spend time exploring the opportunities which lie ahead of us, participating in various activities and hopefully choosing the right career paths. As being introduced to a wide range of options is a key to a future career success, same national curriculum, which does not eliminate any of the subjects, is essential for the pre-college students to make the right choices. Whether they want to become physicists or artists, they should be encouraged to learn as much as they can about different subjects and careers.

First, it is certainly very rare when a teenager is confident about the career path he or she is likely to pursue. It is therefore crucial to avoid early specializations and try to cover a broader range of subjects, not necessarily at a very deep level. It may well be simple laziness when one says he does not want to to study Math and prefers playing football all day long, as it is hard to make conclusions about interests and passions without trying to understand the subject and making at least a minimal effort to succeed. Moreover, early specialization choices are likely to be impacted by children's parents rather than children themselves.

Second, well educated people in a modern society are expected to have a certain level of general knowledge, which allows them to manage their personal finance, be pro-active about using the newest technologies, be familiar with theatre, music, etc., and this is something the same national curriculum can definitely help with.

Some may argue that certain people know early enough what their passions and strengths are, and they are ready to make the right choices before entering the college. However, such early preferences should still not prevent them from being introduced to a broader national curriculum which meets the standards of the minimal school education required for each individual. They are welcome to take some extra-curricular activities and dedicate more time to the subjects they really like; it is certainly not a must to excel at all the subjects being introduced. So, specialization in fact is not eliminated with such a system, it may well be taking place given that some compulsory requirements are met.

To sum up, pre-college specializtions seem to be premature and unnecessary. Young individuals need to be introduced to a spectrum of arts and sciences in order to be able to make educated choices about their future roles in the society. By getting some basic knowledge in different spheres and exploring their options early in their lives, they are more likely to succeed in the future, therefore making same national curriculum a must for a well-functioning society.