A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

For a successful nation, it is important to provide uniform and quality education for better future of the society. Here the statement cites a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. However, I cannot quite agree with the statement.

Every student has their specific interests in some particular fields if the nation enforces to study a generic curriculum for all, it will create antipathy among students. For instance if a student who dreams to be an engineer from his childhood if we compel him to study a generic curriculum which contains all other subjects along with core science such as history, geography, philosophy etc. which are not going to help him to shape his career as an engineer, that can create dislike about those specific subjects as he does not have any interests in other subjects. In lieu of those subjects if he studies the subjects which are related to engineering it will be useful for his future and make him a better engineer.

Furthermore, if all the students study the same curriculum it will hinder the growth of that particular nation as everybody will have the almost same skill set but for a successful nation we need people who are highly specialized in specific domains to carry out the tasks efficiently which will boost the quality and standard of the society as well as the nation. But providing the same kind of curriculum this is hard to achieve and would not be advantageous. For example, if one already has studied related subjects which he is planning to study in college, he will have a better understanding before entering into college and after going to college he does not need to study the basics which he needs in order to understand the topics which will be taught in college. As he will not study the basics at college which will give him more time to study a specific topic in depth and acquire more knowledge and make him more skilled.

In conclusion, a nation should always focus on setting the curriculum based on student's interest and give the flexibility to choose subjects based on their interest to create some skillful workforce to serve the nation and make its future better.