A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

An investment in education churns out the best interest. Since eons and eons, education has been a vital part of an individual’s upbringing, thus helping to sculpt his character and lifestyle. It goes without saying that in today’s dog-eat-dog world the rate of competition among students has reached its zenith, which is essential for the constant improvement of educational standards in a country. But on the other hand, equal opportunities are not provided to students as they apply for advanced degrees and colleges due to the differences in the various school level curriculum.

Drawing a lateral from gender equality to equality in education tells us that, as is the case for women who are discriminated and do not get an equal standing as men when they apply for various jobs, subtle differences in school level curriculum such as language of instruction put many students at an inherent disadvantage and ostracize them from top tier colleges and universities. Students are the building blocks of any country’s progress and development which makes it the nation’s responsibility to level the playing field for them when it comes to education.

In India, for example, there are mainly three education boards which are adhered to by the various schools in the country, these are the CBSE, ICSE and State Board. While the ICSE has a curriculum which is more rigorous and in-depth, the CBSE curriculum focuses more on the idea of rote learning and the State Board on the other hand is considered to have a more laid back curriculum. During the application process the universities and colleges might demand a certain cut off of marks which make the applicant eligible for admission in a stated institution. This is exactly where the problem arises, as a commendable 94 percentile of an ICSE student might not meet the absolute cut-off whereas, an average 96 percentile of a relatively easier board might do the trick. This is completely unfair and thus puts a deserving student at a loss. In addition to this, accepting mediocre students in a highly competitive college would pile a lot of stress on the individual making it difficult for him to make the most out of his resources. Taking a more blanket approach, if two individuals are taught in two different manners then pooling them together for a generic assessment is equivalent to comparing oranges with apples.

However looking at the other side of the coin, it is argued that it may not always be feasible for a nation to maintain uniformity in curriculum, due to many contributing factors like high maintenance and infrastructure costs. In a country which is not quite diverse and multifarious in culture it might make sense both economically and socially for a nation to maintain the same national curriculum for its students till the college level. But in a culturally diverse nation like India, where each state has its own story and mindsets, maintaining such a high degree of uniformity would prove to be quite exacting and tedious. For example, projects about the economic conditions of a particular poverty stricken state would have very little relevance in a financially stable one.

Therefore, while the statement of the issue at hand might be applicable to a few scenarios with favourable conditions it might not always be wise to apply the same in a nation with a vast cultural background.