A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education is the fundamental requirement of the current times. Education is valued worldwide and is very important for a nation to prosper and bergeon the development. Cirriculum decides the direction of the knowledge and helps in moulding the student into a specific manner.

I would disagree with the stated argument of having same curriculum for the entire nation. I will be discussing my reasons in detail.

If a student is not inclined towards a specific subject or it is not of his/her interest then his poor performance is obvious. To avoid such situations where the student has no other option but to study the same curriculum is not that good an idea. If a student is interested with numbers and like solving technical problems then he/she will study that subject with great interest which will not be true otherwise.

As we know that the fundamental principles of a concept or any art start from the very beginning of the learning process. Deciding in early stages of what subject to major in will help in developing the concepts right from the very begining of the education. For example if a student wants to become a Doctor, he/she will choose the curriculum of Biology right from the beginning which will help him/her to understand the basics right from the start.

Alternatively, a different stand can be taken in a way if the curriculum is same for all the student then it will be easy for people to identify intelligent students out of all the applicants. Which according to me is not the right measure to test the intelligence of a student unless the subject is of his/her interest. Also, the advantage of it can be if a student relocates from one state to the another he/she wouldn''t be facing problems because the curriculum is same across the nation.

To conclude I would put my point forward that, if we want to give equal opportunities the the students of a nation then keeping same curriculum is not the best idea.Instead the children should be able to choose the subjects of their interest which will help them to build strong fundamentals before getting into higher education in the same field.