A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The formative years of humans are through his or her teenage years. During this time, they are malleable, and most decisions are made based on emotion and little to no experience. In Nigeria, for example at a tender age of 12 or 13 a child is made to decide between either a commercial, art or science class as he or she moves from Junior to senior secondary school. Many times, you find parents deciding for the child based on their own preferences of what they feel their child should grow up to be. In more cases than not, you hear stories of regrets from the child now an adult with experience and a clearer view on what course he would have liked his life to take. Unfortunately, at this point, the damage is done as it would take the utmost tenacity for anyone to do a complete 180 and start his life afresh in the direction in which he or she would have preferred.

If students were made to study the same curriculum until college, this would give the chance to make a career decision that will shape the rest of their lives at a more mature and experienced age. At this point it would be safe to assume that at least 80% of students would have a good grasp of a wide variety of subjects and be able to make a rational career decision based on actual strengths and weaknesses as opposed to just emotions.

Although this might seem to make individuals jack of all trades and masters of none, this would most likely increase the success rate once they get into college and decide to pursue a degree, they have picked themselves.

Adopting such a scheme in a country like Nigeria, would get rid of statements like 'my mum made me do this'. Even without the best infrastructure, the passion that stems from deciding yourself equipped with the right information would drive almost anyone to success.