A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Curriculum is very important in shaping the future of a student. It guides a student through his journey in life and helps in developing the person he/she becomes in years to come. Hence, it is very essential to make this learning path favourable and adjusting to the student.

I would however disagree with the recommendation of a nation requiring its students to study the same national curriculum until they reach college. The minds of students at a very young age should be given freedom of thought. They should be allowed to choose their very own path based on their interests and things that make their minds think. Going through courses or a specific curriculum will not allow the students to develop an out of the box thinking and chasing their dreams. For example -- If a student is intrigued by computers, courses related to computers should be made more available to him rather than learning from a general set. If someone likes to paint and shape their realities in form of art, their imagination should not get restricted by the numerous courses he/she doesnot want to follow.

The curriculum should be rigid upto a certain extent considering everyone has to learn and know about the basic facts of life. But beyond those certain lessons it gets monotonous and restrictive for the students to not be given a choice. Eventually they won't be able to discover what they really want to do and might fail if given the choice to choose college based on preferences they have no idea about. They won't be able to make structured and desriable choices without exploring a lesson in depth.

Moreover, if a nation is diverse and covers a larger area of land, there may always be languages, history and contemporaries specific to that area. Hence, as a whole the students far from it would not benefit enough from having in depth knowledge or learning a whole language which is not mainstream throughout the nation. But the local population would benefit a lot learning about their region of existence.

Going forward the curriculum should be more adaptive in nature rather than being static over the course of the school journey. For example -- a group of students who perform exceptionally well in academics should be allowed to focus on the next level of difficulty and newer areas to explore. While students who are slow learners should be provided with courses which are at their own pace and helping them to learn accordingly. Hence, similar levels will not always meet the expectation of students.

The idea of having the same national curriculum is indeed good in some aspects. Having a similar curriculum allows students to grow with the similar teachings and thus removes disparity in education that one receives. It will allow all the students to learn and grow in a more structured manner. However, as mentioned my reasons above, it will not always be successful as not all students are the same and they will benefit from having dynamic curriculum to better understand their favourable direction and the dreams they want to chase.