A national should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

I do not completely agree with this recommendation. I believe that students must be given a choice as to which subjects they want to major in early on itself, so that their foundations in that subject are strong. Nowadays with the advancements in technology and the internet times are changing. Students have a wider range of career options to choose from whether they want to become social media influencers, fashion designers to novelists to pilots and engineers. Earlier stereotypes in most asian countries and a few other countries across the world presented students with no more than a handful of options to choose from, the most common ones being either an engineer or a doctor. In this day and age students are well exposed to the vast variety of occupations through the interent. Kids these days are tech-savy and have done all the research neccessary for their future much before than most of us did in our times.

Given times like these, it would seem wrong to almost kind of force students into taking up subjects they do not have any interest in. Instead the child can put in that time and effort into learning something more useful in accordance with the field of interest and career. Let us now say a student wants to become a makeup artist or a fashion designer, then he or she has got very little to do with the dreadful subject of calculus or trigonometry or other mathematical concepts that do not hold any importance in the daily life of a creative artist. What would be beneficial to them is some courses on design thinking, or modelling or a creativity art class and subjects along these lines that would improve their knowledge in their areas of interest. Similarly let us say a student wants to become a mathematician, the above mentioned "dreadful" subjects would become extremely important for him/her, at the same time subjects like history or democratics would be least relevant. It is good to know about the geographies of the world and the past battles of countries but it is already being taught to them during their initial stages of schooling, what's the point of dragging it on and making student learn about the atrocities of this world and wars. Students usually bored by all this end up mugging up chapters just for the sake of passing exams and might not even understand the value behind the wars or the sufferings and revolutions that have taken place.To make this situation worse, national curriculum for subjects like history in a few countries in now being changed or morphed due to unfair political reasons. Students aren't even learning the truth but what seems to be a conviniently modified version of the real happenings that favour one political party over another or one country over another or one man over another.

To conclude, it'd be a great change if the students are now allowed to choose the subjects they want to learn about, the ones that matter to them probably from high school onwards. This way students will be more enthusiatic in attending classes, learning what interests them leading to an actual gain in the knowledge and not just for the sake of examinations. This way they would've read basic mathematics, history,sociology and other common subjects in primary and secondary levels and high school onwards they can go deeper into subjects of their preference.They would also be more ready for the real world whenever they step into their careers as they've been reading and training towards it from day 1. They will be better equipped when they enter colleges and courses of their choice, and wouldn't feel out of place and lost. Currently with admissions, colleges look into the academic records of these students in subjects most probably irrelevant to the course they'll be taking up. How does the college judge a best fit student for that course then? But imagine if the college now have relevant scores of the student in subjects related to the particular course they're opting for, it would be a far more fair and just process of selection. It is a drastic change and will take a lot of time to get there with a lot of people having to make adjustments amd a lot of changes needing to take place. But eventually it would be for the betterment of mankind.