Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Research claims that loss of natural resources cause imbalance in our environment because a small change in nature's cycle may have detrimental consequences. The prompt suggests a solution that all remaining wildlife and resources should be preserved irrespective of economic gain. I mostly agree with the suggestion for three reasons. However, I do concede that in some extreme cases, wilderness may be compromised.

First of all, studies have revealed that large portion of nature and wildlife is still unexplored. This shows that many aspects are still hidden under nature and many remedies and treasures are yet to be known. Hence lack of preservation of nature may lead to loss of these treasures which could be beneficial to solve various problems. For example, perhaps some wild plants are effective to cure fatal disease or nerve disorder or cancer. Scientists are conducting reckless research to find these cures. We may loose the cure because of loss of natural resources due to lack of measures from society. Hence, preservation of forests and wildlife will be beneficial for society in long term.

Secondly, preservation of wildlife will in turn support economic growth of nation. For instance, Panda in China, African elephants in African region or polar bears in Alaska. They are found in specific region of our planet. Supporting their survival will attract tourist, scientists from around the world to that region. As a result, tourism and other systems to support tourism like hotels, resorts, transports etc. will also flourish. This will contribute in economic growth of the nation.

Thirdly, survival of wildlife requires special food, ecosystem and support which needs efforts from government. Lack of funding from government makes maintenance and preservation of these plants and species and causes their extinction. Therefore, measures are necessary now to take care of remaining reserve left with us. Further, due to increasing demand of wood, paper by humans, forests are diminishing at faster rate. Data shows that Amazon rain forest has been reduced by 17% of its overall size. These data alerts us to initiate actions to take remedial steps for preservation.

However, I do concede that in a few cases when society is facing more pressing problems, then human issues should be given preference. For example, in case of urgent need of health care system like situation of Covid-19, global efforts and funding should be diverted to solve the problem faced by humanity. Research to develop vaccine requires huge financial aid and resources. Thus situations when human population is at risk, efforts are necessary to resolve the most immediate problem.

Overall, I agree with the prompt to initiate measures to support preservation of remaining wilderness. Preservation of nature is directly or indirectly beneficial to mankind for the reasons explained above. However I do concede that in certain situation of urgency, need of society should be addressed first