A nations should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Education, I believe drives mankind in the right direction. It's the perfect mixture of what we have learnt so far from our existence on this planet combined with the right set of tools to enable the educated to build on what we have learnt so far. This however, stands true only if done the right way. What that means is while no learning goes to waste, shaping a child's mind in order to be capable and competent depends heavily on the education he or she has received. While saying that, it is also important to not consider everyone the same in terms of interest, ability and caliber. Personally, I stand in the crossroads as to whether a nation must follow one and only one curriculum for the entirety of the student population as long as they are in school.

In favour of the topic at hand, I believe the practice could work in the favor of the nation's youth population as it drives all of its youngsters towards one common goal. This means everyone from the daughter of a wealthy businessman to the son of a farmer is entitled to the same quality and standard of education. What that does, is create an equal platform for every student to take off from. It lays importance on the caliber of each individual student and does not differentiate in terms of who they are and where they come from. The concept ensures that one who is worthy of a better opportunity owing to his or her brilliance is not left behind due to circumstances that are beyond his or her control. This is crucial for a nation trying to build itself and requires the maximum of its future generations to give back to the country. It requires a larger amount of investment in hope that the system is able to select the right individuals for the appropriate roles and work in the favor of the nation's growth.

At the same time, I believe this practice could also mean that students who do not share the same ideology of the education system may fall behind while still being very competent and capable in their own way. The concept that could be followed if that's the case, is that each student is allowed to follow subjects or lessons he or she is interested in. This practice fuels, in a way fuels creativity and in no way means that people looking for more professional careers do not get an opportunity. Everyone must have a chance at educating themselves in the ideal world but at the same time, post the very basic education, one must not be forced to study what he or she is not interested in if it is going to be of no use to them later on in life. The process of choosing your line of work or the career you want to follow could very well begin early on in school which will give the student a better understanding of what he or she is getting into and also the the opportunity to diversify their interests at a later, yet early stage in their life. This could also, to some extent, deal with issues like the abundance of students in fields of engineering and commerce and interest students to take up more creative and diversified career options. Eventually, this will lead to creation of more jobs in those fields as well, as demand increases.

It's important for the decision makers of a nation to understand that there are two sides to a coin and to not place importance on the nation's goal alone but also of the youth's individuals goals and needs. As mentioned earlier, a nation trying to grow or rebuild itself could follow the aforementioned practice until it stands on its own two feet and compete globally. But for a nation that has the resources to provide for its own needs and one that emphasizes on the happiness of its population, the students must be given an opportunity to follow their interests and passion.