In order for any work of art-for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song-to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

It remains to be answered whether art should be easily understood by most people. Although art derives from life and ordinary people, we cannot deny that it is the myth that intrigues numerous people. Consequently, I maintain that it is not necessary for art to be accessible for most people. Artists like poets, composers, directors are supposed to keep doing what they are willing to do instead of catering most people.

Writers, musicians, and painters usually utilize their spirit and their professional skills to perform arts. It is not the popularity among people and the comprehensiveness of arts but the spirits and the meaning of arts that counts. Take a song for example. The success of a song springs from the lyrics and the music other than whether it can be fully understood. The lyrics are like a poem containing limited words, but the meaning can be as far as people can imagine. The song which impresses certain kinds of people can be called a success. On the contrary, if the lyrics of a song is common to every person regardless of age, maybe it doesn’t necessarily have merit, but the attest from most people for it is meaningless.

Besides, what should be in the art depends on the artists in that artists strive to express their own ideas in their arts. Ideas from those artists are of great importance despite the fact that most people will not fully understand what the artists want to show. We should respect those artists for their innovations in arts although sometimes they cannot be accepted. The development of arts is attributed to the uncertainty of these arts. Arts are not like meals, and we shouldn’t arbitrarily equate the merit of arts with whether it can be understood easily by most people.

However, if a certain of art is so difficult to understand, its influence might be decreased a lot. Thus, the merit of it is limited. For instance, if a film is directed without logics and the director is eager to show appallingly different ideas, then the audience will not obtain the whole story. To assess the success of such a film, its unique way to express ideas obscures the audience and exerts detrimental impacts on its future success.

To sum up, we cannot hastily criticize a certain kind of art due to whether it is understandable to most people; on the contrary, the way artists show their ideas and express their spirits and impart their knowledge is the most significant.