In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry

It is true that great progress has been made in agriculture, such as enhancing the amount of yields in each field, but as is reported by the media, there are still numerous people who don't have enough food to eat. From my perspective, three reasons can account for this problem.

Firstly, food is difficult to transport in romote villages. With few roads, local residents cannot purchase food from the city and instead they can only eat what they plant. As is known to us all, little vegetables can grow in winter when the temperature is below zero. Thus, people have to store food in autumn, but for some places, winter can be quite long and the only way to solve this problem is to eat less and as a result they easily feel hungry. Secondly, with the population growing rapidly, especially in India, the total amount of food can not satisfy all the people. Naturally, lots of people cannot be provided with enough food. What's more, the disasters may cause this phenomenon. For example, the severe flood might hamper the germination of seeds in spring, giving rise to the death of those plants.

In order to address this problem, there are also three solutions. To begin with, more roads should be built by the government for the sake of connecting those villages with cities. WIth easy access to the town, I believe more people will purchase enough food to go through the winter. Besides, the fields for rice and wheat are supposed to be enlarged to bring more food. Less construction on the countryside enables farmers to expand their fields to gain food. Last but not least, new technology should be implemented and biologists need to create new species which can offer more quantities of food and are able to survive after droughts and storms.

All in all, the reasons why so many people go hungry are listed, and the solutions to this problem are mentioned above.