Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For students majoring in science, some contend that it is a waste of time for them to spend time learning what they don't need in their research. From my perspective, however, history should be a compulsory course that all students have to take in university.

To begin with, history teaches us reasons why conflicts happened between countries and how they handled those problems, which provides us with the right way to address our own problems. Usually, wars resulted from profits and resources. In order to gain more profits, countries started to intrude other countries where resources like petrol were sufficient. But most of the time those conflicts led to two countries wasting money and energy. After that, people have learned to make deals on the precious resources such as coal, gasoline and methane. Only in this way can people share the resources and earn money.

Besides, scientific research entails the development of the technology and is based on the former researches. That is, history can give students a brief description of science and nature. For instance, for a freshman in civil engineering school, history consisting of the construction of houses and buildings enables him to obtain the development of structural mechanics. When doing research or publishing paper, it is inevitable to refer to others' theories. Therefore, to make better research, history is crucial and students of all majors have to learn history to assist them in doing their own projects.

Furthermore, history courses could contribute to more teamwork. Cooperation helps people to overcome difficulties and beat the enemies. In the World War Two, countries became a whole team to attack the enemies like Japan and Italy and finally those enemies chose to surrender. Also, in university, only one person is not able to organize a successful activity.

In conclusion, history can offer experience of decreasing wars, teaches students the origin of science and lead to more cooperation. Thus every college student should take history courses.