Some people believe that it s good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Scientists can save time using data from other researchers to verify a new theory. Businessmen can benefit from cooperation with other companies by sharing information. Students can gain more when discussing problems with partners, exchanging ideas. However, views may vary greatly on whether all information can be shared.

Some people contend that information about scientific research, business and other academic studies can facilitate the development in those fields. For example, it is a waste of time for a biologist to count the number of species in a certain place by himself. However, with other reports about the flora and fauna species from other researchers, there is no need for the biologist to do this time-consuming work, which saves precious time and enables him to concentrate on addressing the ecosystem problems. In addition, exchanging information can boost the economy. For instance, the camera has become an indispensable part of a mobile phone. Nowadays, Oppo, a well-known smartphone company chooses to work with another company which is famous for its excellent camera. After exchanging ideas about the design and technology about the camera, both companies have seen considerable rises in their sales. Both can profit a lot from this cooperation.

However, others maintain that not all information can be shared in that some can be classified and crucial. For example, a profitable restaurant can be so competitive mainly due to its special flavor which attracts regular customers. If the boss shares the secret of specialties with others, I believe that other restaurants are capable of making the same profits or even going beyond that restaurant. Besides, the manufacturing process of the car is also confidential. That is why the vehicle engines differ greatly in different countries.

In my opinion, in scientific field, scientists need to share information as much as possible for the sake of stimulating and making contributions to the development altogether, while in other fields where everyone is in the competition like business companies, some information should be kept secretly.