Many people might have different perception on originality. However, by definition originality means something of unusual and novel quality. To say that originality either is something completely new or, just putting the old ideas in a novel way, can be considered a contentious statement and different people will have different opinions. Considering the disparaging opinions, I opt for the statement that it is most definitely considered original either way – it can be something that has never been thought before but also something that has been put together in a new way and has not been copied entirely.

You cannot restrict originality to something that no one has ever thought before. A very good example could be the music industry nowadays. Musicians and artists combine different parts of the old music and create their own new music to match the audience of the present days. They are presenting old ideas in a completely new frame and also making the new generation aware of the cultural and traditional music simultaneously.

In all the actuality, it also depends on the perception of people. All of us know about steam and even use it in our daily life and there’s nothing uncommon about it but James Watt had a completely different view on it. James Watt put forward his theory to convert the steam into mechanical energy and because of his unflinchingly different perspective steam engine was born. So, sometimes it can be born without any prior ideas or evidence.

However, people might argue on the level of originality. Really, there is a very thin line between getting inspired and creating and new thing and simply copying the whole idea. Therefore, one has to research the old data and ideas to understand the demand, requirement and trend and only then one can make a basis for his new process thought. This is the same idea that goes into fashion industry. Old fashion trends keep on repeating from time to time. So, designers take their time to analyze the past trends and compare them with the modern days society and trends and create a fresh new look out of the old fashion ideas.

With all this evidences and examples, it is safe to say that originality is not always something only you have come up with but also a mixture of ideas you inspire from and present it in your own creative way. One should have the freedom to explore from the old ideas to create your own master piece. And I strongly believe that freedom will let people think more creatively and create more original pieces.