"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

By citing the observations of the store owners in the Plaza and the increasing popularity of the skateboarding, this argument argues that skateboarding should be prohibited in the Plaza because not only it causes decline in the business, but it also causes increased levels or incidences of violence and increased amount of litter in the plaza. The author predicts improvement in the business upon implementation of the argument above. It might seem laudable. Close study/scrutiny, however, reveals that the argument is problematic unless the author provides us with additional amount of evidence.

First, the author failed to present a clear connection between the increased popularity of skateboarding and the decline in the number of shoppers at the Plaza during the past 2 years. In fact, an important question arises here, how does skateboarding affect shopping? We don’t know! It could be the case that increased number of skateboard users caused over crowdedness in the Plaza which might have precluded shoppers from moving freely in the store. Or maybe numerous repeated incidences of crashes between skateboard users and shoppers have happened which gave the place the reputation of inconvenience. If this turns to be the case, then the claim of the author is true and therefore improvements of the business would be expected after the prohibition of the skateboarding at the Plaza. But this remains uncertain until the author provides more details on the connection stated.

It is predicted to assume that there could be other explanations for the decline in business. What about the stores at Plaza themselves? Isn't it possible that the problem is in the stores themselves? For example, the products, goods, services are outdated or overpriced. There could be a new Plaza in the area that have better prices and services compared to the stores at the Central plaza which have attracted the shoppers. In this case, prohibiting skateboarding at the Plaza wouldn't yield in increase of profits. The fact that the author hasn't make a mention of this cause, doesn't eliminate its possibility.

Additionally, the author states that an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism was noticed. He didn't provide a clear connection between skateboarders and increased litter and vandalism. However, Wouldn’t it be wiser to start a cleaning campaign in the Plaza in the first place instead of prohibiting skateboarding? Because we might find that the root cause of the problem is the increased amount of litter and chaos which discourage shoppers to shop at the Central Plaza.

In sum, the author needs to provide more information on the connection between skateboarding and decline in business, whether this is the root cause of the problem and the connection between skateboard users and increased chaos and violence in the Plaza. Otherwise his argument wouldn't persuade the city state and therefore the prohibition of skateboarding will not be implemented.