As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate
Various innovation and development took place in the field of technology which has made a significant impact
on our lives in different ways. With the invention of technology we become more powerful.
We have the ability to transform the environment, extend our life time, create big and interconnected societies
and even explore various new things about the universe.
Today, we use technology from morning to evening, from the simplest nail cutter to television and personal laptop.
Technology has touched all aspects of our lives, whether it is mobile phones, kettle, kitchen microwave, electric cooker,
television, water heaters, remote control, fridge, and other larger communication systems such as the internet facilities,
railways, air-routes, and so on. Thus, technology plays an extremely crucial role in the lives of human beings.
With the advent of new technology, life has been easier.A lot has been said and done to highlight the
implication of technology on basic human nature.
A quick reflection on a typical day reveals how technology has revolutionized the world.
Most people commute to work in an automobile that runs on a internal combustion engine.
During a workday chances are high ,that a person will interact with a computer that processes information on silicon bridges
that are .09 microns wide.
Upon leaving home, family members will be reached through wireless networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth.
Each of these common occurrences could have been inconceivable at the turn of the 19th century.
The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the ability of humans to think for themselves.
The assumption is that an increased reliance on technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve previous
quandaries.
Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without a car, computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical worker
would need to find alternate methods of transport, information processing and communication.
Technology short circuits this thinking by making the problems obsolete.
However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity that marks the human species.
The prior examples reveal that technology allows for convenience.
The car, computer and phone all release additional time for people to live more efficiently.
This efficiency does not preclude the need for humans to think for themselves.
In fact, technology frees humanity to not only tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues
that did not exist without technology.
For example, the proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need for fuel conservation on a global scale.
In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human imagination.
Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet have allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas.
WebMD, a popular internet portal for medical information, permits patients to self-research symptoms for a more informed
doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that were previously closed off to the medical layman.
This example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides a future of humanity.
Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the implementation of nanotechnology.
Given the history of human race, there will be no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle.
We should embrace a hopeful posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human imagination.