As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The ability of thinking in humans is what separates humans from the rest of living species although other can think it is not as efficient as the human brain. In the prompt, it is stated that if humans keep relying more on technology to solve problems their ability of thinking for themselves will definitely deteriorate. However, in my opinion, I moderately disagree with this statement is true to some extent for the following reasons.

First of all, What about the people who are helping in the advancement of technology? Are they not considered humans? Since it is these humans who are developing and furthering technological advancements and performing feats that were considered impossible in the past. As stated in the prompt the statement is not applicable when the above is true.

Lastly, It is not the humans as a whole that are subjected to deteriorating in the ability to think but the people who are influenced negatively by technology who lose the ability to think and reason under specific circumstances, even though they are negatively influenced they can still think of something and it can be fixed with help of time. If the above case is considered the prompt stating that the deteriorating of ability to think in humans does not hold water.

Of course, some might argue that the given statement is true. However, it is only to a certain extent that the given statement is true even though there are people who are negatively influenced by technology, as long as there are people who make further advancements in the technological fields the ability to think in humans might not deteriorate as they are trying to progress even further in the future.