People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Behavior is a complex feature of human. Society and external factors plays a major role in shaping our behavior. The prompt asserts in the similar direction that our behavior is result of external factors and contributed by individual himself. I mostly agree with the prompt's stand that the way of act is dependent on our immediate surrounding for two reasons, but I do concede that there are some extreme cases where behavior is shaped mainly by inner forces.

First of all, our environment of upbringing plays a key role in shaping a person. Family environment is the first teacher for a child. For example, a child brought up in an abusive environment seeing his father misbehaving with his mother. Slowing the child will also accustomed to such routine. In future, when the girl will get married, she will also behave rudely with her husband. She will not find such act as inappropriate. On the contrary, the husband will feel surprised to see such response, because he was brought up in benign and calm environment. This example shows clearly that our immediate environment plays a crucial role in molding a person. Other the other hand, if a child from underprivileged background comes in contact with supportive teacher may get transformed. Earlier leading a life with no motivation and aim, boy will learn to study and adapt to become a better person in future. Both the examples demonstrates that way of upbringing can transform a child in both positively and negatively.

Secondly, circumstances or external factors provoke person to behave in certain way. For example, an officer in government department is well known for his honesty and dutifulness. He is well praised and received appreciation for this attitude against corruption. However, the person came to know that his wife is diagnosed with cancer. The treatment and surgery requires huge sum of money in order to save her. This big trouble may intrigue him to accept bride. Such difficult circumstances and dilemma plays a pivotal role in deciding the next course of action. This shows that many times situation in life i.e. an external cause becomes the driving force to determine the behavior of a person.

However, I do concede that there exists a few extreme cases, which shows the behavior is outcome of our inner attributes. For example, Hitler from Germany. Although he suffered a lot during his childhood and he was affected by WWI. These events shaped him as a person but upto a very extreme extend. He became obsessed with his power and he became epitome of cruelty. His abhorrence towards child or female was equally same. In peak of his career, he was formidable and took many damaging decisions. Millions of people lost their life. He was not the only one who faced troubled childhood but he was motivated by his inner traits, greed and satisfaction.

To conclude, I mostly agree that people's learn most from their immediate situation, their behavior is driven by upbringing and immediate external circumstances. But, I do concede that there are few cases when inner traits drives and governs the person most.