Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government by definition is a system that administrate the nation and introduce many policies according to the needs of its society. Political leaders and government officials master this system. On the other hand, often people are not well informed to present their will to government. The prompt suggests in similar direction that government should take decisions based on their own assessment instead of following the demand of people. I mostly agree with the prompt that government should assess independently and take decision for two reasons. However, I do concede that in extreme cases adhering to public demand is beneficial.

First of all, government is responsible to manage the need of the nation along with balancing the welfare of citizens. But public demand or protest against government may always not be in favour of nation. For example, In a developing country, the government decided to construct a dam in one of nation's river. However, the execution of this project requires relocation of local population. Because public can not anticipate the benefits in long run, they are prone to influential and prejudiced views of activists and may protect against the proposed construction. However, government needs to make them aware and informed about the benefits like development, employment, business growth, education and economic support to nation etc., rather than agree to their demands.

Furthermore, in close view the good governance should possess qualities like compassion, open mindedness, non-discrimination and determination. On the contrary, public mostly are selfish in their demand and do not consider other side. Hence, serving as per public will be detrimental. For example, government passes a policy to protect transgender rights for education, job or healthcare. Protesters will argue that these 'special' favors will cause injustice to their kids and affect their rights in future. Such protest will hurt sentiments of many individuals. If government agrees to these demands unopposed then unfair treatment of minorities will continue. Hence, overall to bring good to the society, it is required to do right thing than the most demanded thing. Above two examples illustrate this point.

However, I do concede that in extreme cases serving to public will is necessary. For instance, when elected government or official is bigoted then he will lack the ability to maintain disinterestedness while making any policy. Assume that government introduces a new tax system which indirectly benefits opulent. Protest from public will remind government of their wrongdoing and to remain impartial. This also encourages government to compromise their views and accept public opinion. Hence, under such situations citizen's demand forces officials to stand constantly for good.

Overall, I mostly agree that officials or government should stand firm on their decisions because of above mentioned reasons. Also, a person who keep changing his stand just to appease public also lacks credibility. In long term people prefer those who has definite value or moral. History has shown us many such examples and people revere them till today. However, I do concede that in extreme cases, government should be attentive enough to comply fair demands of citizens.