People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Human are integral part of a society. In turn, social circumstances significantly influences human behavior. The prompt also suggests in similar direction that an individual’s behavior is largely determined by external social forces. I mostly agree with the prompt due to two reasons which I will explain below. However, I do concede that there are extreme cases which shows that decisions are shaped by internal nature.

First of all, situations in life governs our response towards it. To explain my point, I will present a case. Consider a government official who is very honest and popular in the department due to his high moral. However, if his wife got diagnosed with cancer which requires immediate treatment. To execute the surgery and treatment, he needs high amount of funds to begin her treatment. In such dire situation, it is highly probable that the person will be provoked to accept bribe, even though it is against his core nature. Such instances shows that many of human’s decisions are majorly governed by external factors and some emergent situate requires extreme actions.

Further, society plays a role to shape our performance. History serves us many such examples. In past, society’s view towards women were very conservative. Hence, their role was also limited to selected sectors only. Majorly, women were involved in household activities. However, with change in time and perspective, role of women changed dramatically. Given the opportunity, they are now participating in field of sports to science to business to space. Women like Ms. Indra Nooyi, CEO of Pepsico company or Ms. Sunita Williams, well known Space researcher from NASA have proven their mettle in many conventional and unconventional sectors. This clearly shows that with change in attitude, women are presented with varied opportunities which were definitely limited in earlier time.

Moreover, Influence of social media is a well known to us. Young adults get easily influenced by the images and reports published in online platforms. As a result of this, many times they feel inferior and demotivated. Reports suggest that depression is emerging as one of the major issue in children and teens. Cosmetic industries are expanding exponentially due to increasing demand from youth. Another instance of social media influence is US Presidential election of year 2016. Post election, many reports surfaced which claimed that social media was used as mean to influence voters opinion. Plenty of cases prove that external factors hugely impact one’s decision.

However, I do concede that there exists few extreme cases which shows the dominance of internal trails over individual’s personality. For instance, Adolf Hitler. Hitler was not the only one who had difficult childhood. But his obsession with power and selfish motive hugely damaged Germany. On the other hand, Mahatma Gandhi, who laid the foundation of Indian Independence movement stood formidably against British government. Clearly, Gandhi ji’s opinion was not common opinion of society rather he influenced the masses and people venerated him. These personalities are cogent case of inherent trait’s dominance.

Overall, I mostly agree with the prompt that external situations and factors influence our behavior greatly. Examples of women’s role in earlier society and social media in present time shows this effectively. However, extreme personalities do exist such as Adolf Hitler and Gandhi ji who were unconventional in their choices.