People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

he question of Destiny vs Freewill, whether our actions are upto us or is everything predestined, is a debatable one. While some believe that our willpower allows us to keep fate at our own hands, others like the given prompt argue that our behaviour is determined by forces beyond our control. While it is true that to some extent, an individual's behaviour is affcted by some external forces, I believe that human beings are mostly capable of shaping their own behaviour.

During childhood, most of the behaviorial traits are developed by external factors that are beyond the child's control. From genetically inhereted characteristcics to those learned through observation of one's environment, children have scant control. Moreover, children"s brains arent fully developed to be able to distinguish right from the wrong. For example, if a child's parent is a chainsmoker, the child is likely to be curious about smoking and cannot exchange his/her parent or change the behaviour of his/her parent. Aditionally,since the child sees the parent smoking,he/she assumes it is not a normal activity, not a dangerous one and might try smoking when presented with the opportunity. Thus, during childhood, individuals have little to none control over their behaviour.

However, as children grow up to become adults, their brains are welldeveloped, and they are capable of thinking for themselves and thus, are able to chooe their own actions. For example, an adult who knows the consequences of smoking, and whoose uncle passed away from lung cancer, wont try smoking even if they see their own parents smoking. Instead, they might even try to persuade their parents to quit smoking. The amalgam of knowledge, experience and wishdom obtained over the years aids in obtaining the power to determine ones own behaviour.

Similarly, adults are also capable of changing their actions in the fture even if it isnt presently in the right direction. As several self help books mention, with determination and persistance, one can establish or change their habots within 21 days. Like how drops of water can create an ocean, even the tiniest change (1% change), can compoud to a huge difference over time and result in a better person.

Even though as children, there are several uncntrollable forces at play which influence our behaviour, as we row up, things become different withour wishdom, experience and level of self control. Therefore i believe that humans are capable of influencing their own behaviour.