Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Whether the legal system can or cannot resolve the issues of the modern society is a complex issues with arguments existing on both sides. The prompt mentions that the legal system, in fact, cannot solve the various issues that plague the modern society as law is incapable of influencing people's minds. On the contrary, I believe that the legal system and laws are indeed still germane and powerful in today's modern world.

Many believe that today's problem which include mental health issues such as loneliness and digital addiction cannot be resolved by the legal system. After all, the government cannot create a limitation to daily screen time of individuals as that would be a violation of right to freedom. Similarly, we simply cannot solve loneliness by imposing a fine upon lonely people and expect people to stop being lonely. However, factors contributing to loneliness such as discrimination can be addressed by penalizing discriminatory behavior and establishing provisions for mental health awareness programs. Thus, I while laws cannot directly solve certain modern problems, it surely can contribute in several indirect ways.

Moreover, to assume that law cannot influence human hearts would be presumptuous as the law certainly can affect people's mind as human beings tend to fear the consequences of activities punishable by law and thus, avoid participating in such activities. For instance, a person who considers painting empty walls of private property as fun is likely to resist his/her temptation to do so if he/she is aware that such activities of vandalism might leads to upto 20 years in jail. While law is not able to change the love of painting walls in the individual, it is certainly able to change his/her mind about vandalizing a private property. Hence, through awareness and fear of punishment, law can change the heart and mind of people

Additionally, modern societies consists of modern laws, which is created by taking modern problems into consideration and thus, making the legal system ever evolving like modern problems. For instance, while 100 year old laws might not include anything regarding limitations to production of CFCs for protection of environment and climate change, the laws created after discovering that CFCs deplete the zone layers lead to a global convention that did so. Hence, the continuous improvement of humans has led not just to ever-changing problems, but also ever-changing solutions.

Therefore, I believe that laws can change people s mind and hearts and can also solve modern problems.