“ “Government should place a few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development “

The world is an evolving sphere and we owe a large chunk of this development to a scientific research and development. The prompt talked about a need to place restrictions on scientific research and development but I disagree, the reasons for which will be expatiated below

Firstly, developments and advancement are a core of the world, it is why the world is currently not where it was some hundreds of years ago, a barrier or a restricted accessibility to scientific research and developments directly implies a halt, at worst, or a reduced pace, at best , to the currently developing society

Secondly, a groundbreaking research can be derived by literally anyone regardless of their experience or expertise In that field, beginners luck as they call it might lead to a cure or a solution which has been sought after for decades in futility

Cures for various drugs were manufactured due to intense and rigorous brain racking and hours spent in the laboratory, a reduced access or an ultimate reduction as the case may be will be at the detriment of the society as a whole as it will only serve to take us a step forward and 5 steps backwards

While acknowledging that the forms of research have been deployed for illicit uses which may range from production of weapons of mass destruction, creation of a deadly virus as a means of selling the cure and amassing wealth amongst others, it is worthy of note that an interrupted access to scientific research even poses a greater danger.

In conclusion, research and technological advancement should never be restricted at any cost as it is the key and the glue that holds the society’s growth