A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crimes can be of various natures and the cruelty of the crime needs to be analyzed before any punishments. The prompt suggests that one who commits any crime wittingly should be deprived of his/her rights as she/he has broken the social code of conduct. In my opinion, I am consonant with the author to great extent because of the following reasons.

To begin, the nature of the crime is an important factor that needs to be considered for any kind of punishment. The crime might be related to imminent threat that can challenge the existence of the human race. For instance, one might be considering to wreck the whole universe by developing the threatning mass destruction weapons like nuclear and biological weapons. If these is the case then not only he should be deprived of the social rights but also he needs to be punished severely. Similarly we can take the example of the Osama Bin Laden, who wanted to wreck the whole Europe. He hijacked the aeroplane routing towards the USA and attacked the Trade Tower causing the deaths of 1000s of innocent people.Later, he was killed in the military attack by USA. These types of crimes happens very often and they needs to be prevented. Killing the thousands of innocent is a cruel behavior, and therefore, they should be punished strictly -even deaths is less severe for them.

However, always punishing the criminals severely and preventing them to use the basic rights is not a good idea. Sometimes, the severity of the crime might be negligible and they should be treated accordingly. The reason behind the criminal activities needs to be analyzed and consequently, the required method needs to be adopted to prevent the same. For instance, the majority of the criminals in the African countries are involved in the drugs abuse; these is because of the lack of education, job opportunities and the poverty. They know that they are commiting the crime yet, they are compelled to do the same for their living. If the proper education and job that can withstand their family can be provided to the populaces of the Africa, then such crimes can be significantly reduced. So, it is better to find out the roots of the crime rather than merely punishing them.

In conclusion, the criminals that intentionally breaks the laws should be punished, however, sometimes it is necessary to explore the root cause of the problem.