A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Crime can be defined as a legal offence, which is comminted by disregarding the laws of a particular auhtority, and so such authority has the right to punish the person committing the crime. However, generally and more practically speaking, a person flouting any law in the country is said to perform crime. For instance, an act as marginal as evading a traffic signal to killing a person, everything is regared as a crime as there is the factor of disobeyance of the law of the country. It is to be understood that not all crimes are committed with the intention to harm someone or deceive someone. Crimes are committed based on various needs and situations a person lives in. I disagree with the claim due to many reasons and I would like to elaborate them in the forthcoming paragraphs.

Firstly, I would like to foucus on the Crime Rate of a country and the factors influencing such rate in any country. Crime rate is the measure of the crimes happening in a country as compared to others. In some countriues we see high crime rate as compared to other countries due to various factors like the litracy, living conditions, economy of the country and so on. I would like to underscore the relationship between the importance of the country's well being to the number of crimes committed in the country. We see in countries like America or England, the crime rate is ratehr low compared to countries like Iran or India, because the living condition on the former countries is rather rich and everyone is the country would is living a satisftied life. In countries like India or Iran, there is a high influence of religion and sense of supremacy. There is also a huge standard of living gap within the people of the country. For instance, within the city of Mumbai, there are billionairs and also sulms. There are people who go to lavish resturants every day and also people who struggle for existance. Due to such existing factors, there are incresed crimes in the country. For example, there are religious fights, or theft of money or possessions so the survival of people living in the slums will be better. This does not necessarily mean that the people should be deprived of the basic civil rights, but I strongly believe that the government shoul focus on this issues and make necessary plans and policies to reduce such Crime Rather rather than depriving such peopel of their rights.

Secondly, I believe that the reason for crimes in a country are the personal inconsistency or in ability to earn basic living. For instance, consider a family with only a mother and son, both illitrate and the mother is severly sick. The son himself being week and fragile having no means to earn money finds it easier to steal the required money from others so as to get medication and treatment for his mother. Here, the son commits a crime of theft but the main intention of this criminal act was the well being of his mother. In this scenario, it would obviously not be appropriate to ddeprive him of his civil rights or his right ot benefit from his own labour as the intention of the criminal here was only to help someone who means a lot to him. Rather than depriving the son of his rights, it is rather advisable to provide him with free treatment and a well earning job so to feed his family.

However, not all crimes are due to the hardships of the people performing crimes. For example, rapes in the country or shooting in an arena are not acceptable crimes and are needed to be taken more seriously. Those which are done with an inention to deliberately hurt someone is to be noted by the authority and in this scenario I believe not just depriving them of the right but also enforcing strict punishments on them like, imprisonment or life sentence depending on the sevearity of the issue will be apt. This punishments shall also serve as an example of a check on other criminals.

Therefore, it would be wise to conclude that not all crimes are done with an intention to harm someone, but for one's own survival and so not all of them should be deprived of basic rights. However, before imposing any punsihmnet on a criminal, the intention of the criminal must be understood and only if it is unreasonable, he must be punished to such extent that seems right so as to act as a check on other criminals. Thus I disagree with the statement however it might hold true sometimes.