Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

The issue suggests that the politicians should seek common ground and reasonable consensus than ambiguous ideals. There might be some objections that since the world know is created by persuing ideals, it is a nonsense to be overlooked by politicians. However, there are many cases that persued only the ideal rather than life related acts failed. Moreover, because the politicians were elected by people, it might be unreasonable to follow the ideal. Therefore I agree with the issue.

Admittedly, the world today is a result of numerous fight between ideologies. For example, in the 19th to 20th century, it was a fight between imperialism and republic. Moreover, in the 20th to 21th century, it was a fight between Capitalism and Communism. Whatever the ideal is, human society was created between these ideals. On to that, in the book of Sapiens, the enormous human society were made because of these ideals created. Therefore it might be a contradiction for politicians not to persue ideals.

However, there are many cases in history that persuing only the ideal led to catastrophic ending. In the case of Soviate Union for example, Stalin, a dictator of this country, followed only the ideology, the Communism. Due to his excessive persue on his ideal, the country collapsed due to lack of understanding demotic needs. Moreover, in the case of North Korea, we can see definately that the result of following only the ideal is a calamity.

On the other point of view, the fundamental of politicians are made by normal people. They were elected by these pedestrian people. They are the representatives of every citizens in each part of their nation. Therefore, it is reasonable to weigh more on the public needs than his or her ideals. As a matter of fact, politicians are the tools for each individual in the nation. And these tools are made to increase the efficiency of the country's well-being, and is therefore obligatory to fulfill their needs.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the society today are made because of the ideal. However, without fulfilling the public need and deriving consensus, the politician cannot maintain its reason for its existance. Therefore, politicians should consider common ground and reasonable consensus than equivocal ideals.