"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given argument in the memo from the advertising director states that due to the lack of advertising of the movies produced by the production company, its potential viewers are not aware of its good quality content. Therefore, to increase the publicity a larger chunk of the next yearly budget should be allocated for advertising. But before we go ahead with this recommendation, there are many questions to be asked regarding the reasoning provided in the argument, without which proceeding with the suggestion would be hasty and impractical.

To begin, the argument states that the percentage of positive reviews have increased from the past year, but there has been no mention made by what factor. It might be possible that there has just been a small degree of increase in the range of say 1-5 percent? If this is true, the assumption made that the problem isn't with the quality of content but the advertising outreach is falsified. If such concrete data were available, we would be able to calculate the actual percent increase, thereby validating the aforementioned claim. Therefore, without further details of the precise percent increase and information about the survey, this assumption is unreasonable.

In addition, it is mentioned that the number of people attending the production company's movies has decreased but its positive reviews have increased. Could this result in a cause-effect relationship? Since the number of viewers has decreased it is understood that the number of negative reviews might have also attenuated, which would give a false idea that relatively, number of positive reviews has blown up. Moreover, even if the affirmative reviews would have genuinely increased, it might be due to some other factors. It might be possible that the movies produces only cater to a niche audience and are published on topics which are detested by wide masses. Therefore, due to this specific genre of movies, the positive reviews have increased. But if this were true, it raises glaring questions on the assumption made by the director on the impeccable quality of movies. Therefore, in order to understand the viewer pattern at a much greater detail, pivotal information like number of viewers, nature and genre of the movies, number of positive and negative reviews is required.

Lastly, there is an inherent assumption made by the argument that the advertising is not reaching potential viewers and they are unaware of the production company's "quality" content. But is this really true? There is no detail provided of the pervasiveness of the advertising campaign. What was its initial budget, what were the modes of advertising, the spatial and temporal details of the campaign and most importantly, the feedback from the venture? All these significant questions remain unanswered, without which assuming that the targeted advertisements are not reaching potential patrons is false. It might be possible that there is good penetration in the company's advertising campaign, but its content is not able to excite or influence its viewers, hence leading to fewer people attending screenings.

In conclusion, in order to analyze the credibility and effectiveness of the recommendation of increasing the annual advertising budget, the above mentioned questions need to be answered, without which the argument as it stands is weak and does not hold water.