The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

For the longest time, the goal of advancing technology has been to increase work efficiency and to increase the production rates for the necessities of human beings. In the prompt, it is stated that the primary goal in the advancement of technology is to increase people’s efficiency. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement and argue that it is true for the following reasons.

Firstly, technological advancements are being made to contribute to the people. technological advancements in the field of medicine are being made to help the masses. For instance, people who are physically challenged such as losing their arms, or legs, could be solved by them receiving a prosthetic required and be back to normal. However, this does not stand to increase people’s leisure time but in turn, increases their quality of livelihood.

Secondly, the advancement of technology in the field of computers is to develop an artificial intelligence such that it can handle the problems which could not be tackled with just human strength and brain alone as the human brain can only remember so much. For instance, even when an artificial intelligence like this is developed there might be a corruption of memory or some sort of malfunction in the artificial intelligence and this needs to be fixed by the humans who have developed it. In this case, it does not increase people’s leisure time, but to solve this new problem people would need to decrease their leisure time and work on solving it.

Lastly, the technology needs advancement to help the rural areas to be urbanized at a fast pace as there are rural areas that to this day don't have minimum amenities to live in, to develop a rural area, advancement is needed in many fields. For instance, a rural area that has been considered to be urbanized is considered, it would need a lot of people and hard work to accomplish the task even if there is technological advancement in the required fields proper planning and execution are required.

Of course, some may argue that technological advancements are being made to bring people a lot of leisure time. But, it is quite the opposite, as you would need further more knowledge and manpower to maintain this new advanced technology.