In a society where most households have clocks, phones, and televisions in almost every room, and daily schedules are demarcated by minutes instead of hours, many Americans suffer from stress and constantly complain that they don't have enough time to do everything they want to do. This complaint appears paradoxical because we know there has been an almost exponential development in technology. Our computers are faster and more powerful, we have more machines to do our tasks for us, and even our transportation gets us where we need to be much more quickly. Still, we have less time than ever to spend leisurely, and I will argue that this problem is not because technology has failed to achieve its goal of improving efficien cy, but rather, because technology has created more pursuits and Americans are subject to a basic ethical drive for "More".

Many Americans complain they don't have enough time. As a society, most of us get caught up in a schedule of going to work each day, coming home late, then taking care of mundane details before finally falling into bed only to get up early the next day to continue the routine. In most households, both parents work full-time, so are busy working throughout the week, which leaves them only the weekends to take care of household duties like cleaning and doing the bills. As a result, many parents feel ostracized from their children because they don't have the time or energy to spend with their kids. Many people suffer from chronic stress because they don't take the time out from their busy lives to just relax. What little free time people do have, they spend on the phone, in front of the TV, or on the computer so that they are still not relaxing, but actively engaged in a cognitive process. People can wile away hours in front of a TV, and not come away feeling relaxed because they've spent that entire time keeping up with the constant flash of images, storing information about characters, plots, themes, products and other aspects of the media and all without realizing that they're doing so. The influx of media is just one element of the reason why people don't have enough time.

While technology has made many things better and faster, it has also created more pursuits with which the public can engage itself. We now have televisions, computers, palm pilots, stereos, DVDs, play stations, and cell phones to occupy our time with, just to name a few. Furthermore, all these things are within easy access to the average American. Meanwhile, pursuits that are traditionally considered relaxing are becoming more expensive and less accessible. For example, for most Americans $100 massages are an unaffordable luxury and as cities grow larger, nature walks are becoming harder to find. It is sometimes easier to just sit down in front of the TV than it is to take the time out to do something special. So people fill their time with mediated technologies and get so caught up in their favorite shows or games that they don't take the time to do other things they've been "meaning to do".

This whirlwind of activity is a product of another reason why our society pines for more leisure time. This country was founded on the conservative Protestant ethic that dictates people should work hard now so they may reap the rewards later. While this ethic is essential for effective productivity and pushes us to want more, it has become detrimental to the American psyche. People push themselves to become more efficient so they can accomplish more. However, then they've started adding more goals so that in effect, the job never gets done. For example, people will also want to buy more things to achieve higher social status, so instead of saving for early retirement, they end up having to work just as long to pay off all their debts. Furthermore, people are so busy pushing themselves daily with the vague promise of retirement at the end, hoping to retire sooner in life, that they forget to stop and enjoy life as it is happening. Instead of working when they are older, but enjoying each day of their lives, people forgo daily enjoyments for the promise of later rewards.

So while technology has given the means of more efficient production, it has also given us more things to deal with and accomplish. As a result, people find themselves running around endlessly, sometimes forgetting what it is they are running after. The key to more leisure time has become not more technology, but a refusal to let technology run our lives. We must learn to stop once in awhile, breathe, and enjoy life as it comes. We must learn to achieve a balance between looking ahead to tomorrow and learning to enjoy today.