Question Authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.

During childhood, human beings have the unique ability of questioning everything that round them. Unfortunately, when the child grows and engages into the habits of adults, many of them refrain from being an active inquisitor and start just accepting what everything accepts as unquestionable trues. During our lifetime, we arec constantly exposed to take a position, to listen arguments, to read statements and analyze ideas. Teachers, whose role during school years is quintessential, present ideas to the young minds. These minds, then go to the university, where they are immersed into arguments from the professors. I agree with the position that is necessary to question authorithy for the following reasons.

It is certainly true that we need a set of ideas and established institutions whose role is to protect and defend the ideas. Otherwise, none could have a basis to invent new ideas and support to ellaborate them. However, it is also true that as human beings, we made errors ands fail from time to time. It will be dangerous to overlook that fact. During Middle Ages, everyone just took as an accepted wisdom that Earth was the center of the Universe, but an intrepid man, Galileo, challenged the idea to propose that the Earth was moving around the Sun. In natural sciences, the challenge participation of scientists is necessary to evolve the human knowledge, thus questioning the authority must be the habitual role of scientists for the betterment of humankind.

Furthermore, social sciences need also to be tolerant to arguments that challenge previous wisdom. Only then, people can have a richer and varied perspective of society. Likewise the scientists of Galileo's era should have listen to him, current policymakers have to listen to everyones's ideas on how to make out a better nation. Without them, the policies would be exclusive for some people while damage the wealthness of others. In conclusion, whether the wisdom is a social statement or a natural idea, there is a need for questioning and listening everything and everyone to reach to a rational and well understood idea.