The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author of the letter argues that the construction of an access road at the edge of the West Lansburg sanctuary will endager the population of tufted groundhogs. Stated in this way, the arguements fails to mention reliable and significant evidence of its assertions to be valid. To support his position, the author use the example of Eastern Carpenteria as a sanctuary where sea otter population become endangered after its alteration of sanctuary status. Nevertheless, he does not provide evidence that the real cause of the diminishing of the population was the status change. Because of the many origins of extinctions of species, the former assertion is not necessary valid. Among the reasons, can be natural or antgropogenic ones.

To be more precise, the reduction of the number of sea otter can be attributed to an increase of a new predator who kills the sea otters, or an unexpected weather change in the enviroment of Eastern Carpenteria, factors whose origin relies on natural causes. Otherwise, anthropogenic reasons as the status change can be the actual cause. If the former is the reason of the decline, then the author main example weakens his support.

The author also overlooks many assumptions and definitions. First, there is no evidence that West Lansburg is actually the home of tufted groundhogs, the sanctuary might just only be a transition zone of migration place for them. For example, exotic birds travel from the Northern Hemisphere to Southern regions during the winter. In the scenario that a certain place of the Southern regions gets polluted, the birds will just travel to other Southern regions. As consequence, there is not certain reason of why the population will decrease if the sanctuary is affected.

Even though the author example and claims are appealing, in conclusion, his arguments is unpersuasive with the current absent evidence we raise in these paragraphs. The assumptions should be made on the basis of biology and environment research whose findings can enhance the position of the author. Furthermore, there also is no reason of why the road will finally endanger the groundhogs, in the case the company is environmentally responsible, a reliable impact study and prevention measures can reduce the finaimpact on the sanctuary.