The purpose of higher education is to prepare students for the future, but classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for post-college employment due to the university's burdensome breadth requirements. classen's job placement rate is substantially lower than placement rates of many top-ranked schools. classen students would be more attractive to employers if they had more time to take advanced courses in their specialty, rather than being required to spend fifteen percent of their time at classen taking courses outside of their subject area. we demand, therefore, that the university abandon or drastically cut back on its breadth requirements.

Analyse and Suggest any additional kind of evidence to reinforce the argument.

The author criticize the number of courses of breadth requirements due to low employability of their fellow students. Nevertheless, the petitions includes various flaws to strongly support the initial position. Along the text, he mainly utilize the low employment rates as a reason of why the university should increase the proportion of specialty courses. Furthermore, the author fosters the idea of an abandonment of the breadt requirements as a new policy.

According to the author the employment rate in this university is substantially lower. However, he do not include a valid source that found this number, thus the position cannot rely on a verifiable and reliable fact. Otherwise, by including a survey, a focus group or information from the Secretary of Education, the argument could have been sustained. Even more, he do not provide a certain value, saying 'substantially' is not a valid assumption, because it can mean 50% or 20% without the adequate context.

The author overlooks the reason of the possible low rate. The assumption of having few specialty courses impacts on employability is not necessarily true. As a result, there are many causes of a low rate, for instance, private and public organizations may be looking for candidates in certain areas of knowledge that this university do not offer whereas its majors are currently in a freezed market.

Finally, the petition includes the fact that fifteen percent of courses are breadth requirements. The author does not especify a proportion of specialty courses, impliying that the value is eighty five making it a high number relatively to the breadth requirements. In consequence, if this is true, the number of advanced courses is actually not low while the author says the opposite. By using an specific number the argument would have been more valid. Even if the university cuts back the requirements, there is not assurance that employment rate will increase if we only rely on this petition's arguments since there are many flaws to be a valid support.