The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

The claim implies that, the talent of a musician can only be judged with parity after he or her is long gone.I blatantly disregard this claim. How would a person who was born in 1990's would feel to listen or judge the music of late musician Bob Marley or Micheal Jackson?Do you think a guy who will hum to a Justin bieber and Miley cyrus song, could be in a position to appreciate the actual worth of past musicians?I don't think so.

Firstly, we can judge the value of newtons law, after he is long gone, as the discoveries he made are sill relevant to any generation. But, music is a different thing. If I ask my dad to listen to Justin bieber's best songs like 'Baby' and some other latest songs like 'Whip whip nae nae', he wouldn't listen to the whole song in the first place and say, this is not real music. The real music used to be done by beatles, where the songs used to have proper meaning. So, with the generation gap, the tastes and opinions change. From this we can say music can best be judged in the era of the musician, where people can actually see him perform and connect to him.

In addition, fame helps in getting the actual opinion of people over the particular musician. Let's say you want to take a opinion on who is the best musician?.This could be more accurately done, if the musician is more famous and can be reachable to all his fans through twitter, facebook and other social networks.On whether a bad personal fame will have a detrimental effect or a good fame will have an added edge to the musicians work is also a point to consider. In this line, we can take the example of Justin bieber. His initial album 'My world' released in 2010 is a platinum seller. Then he came into some legal issues regarding his social etiquette and had experienced a bad fame for some time in his career, but this no way effected his 2015 'purpose' album from breaking all his previous selling records. His personal behaviour didn't interfere with his music's judgement by people in any way.This was the case with many present day famous musicians. Taylor swift, who is accused to be mercurial in her decisions, Kanye west , who is again criticized for his bad decorous, have enjoyed success, irrespective of their fame.

Even more, judging a musician, when he is alive actually has positive effects, the musicians get to know where is hitting a right note and where he is not. This allows the musician to improve. Let's take the example of galileo, who got named as father of modern physics after he was long gone. Wouldn't it have been more motivating and satisfying, if his work had been appreciated when he was alive!.In similar way it will help musicians to be motivated to make good music, if they are recognised for their work when they are alive.

All in all, from all the above depictions we can clearly see numerous reasons for how fame won't come in the way of assessing a musician and it would be more beneficial, logical to judge a musician when he is alive.The most important take is, musicians can't be judged after a century or two,as the music can become obselete in the time of judging.