The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music is a form of art. Art is a field which is very subjective. In art, a thing that someone likes could be abhorred by other.Similarly in music a song loved by a person would not be so likeable to another.The point that the author is trying to make that real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead.I disagree with this view of the author as people with real talent will always get recognized in someway or the other.

Firstly,it is generally observed that people believe in what they see.The best way to appreciate or criticize something is when you see it live.After the death of a person, the only way to analyze his art is either by reading something about him or by watching his videos.The musicians popularity can easily be judged when he is alive by taking some poll or survey about it.Moreover when the musician is dead we will never be able to study about the nuances that led to the evolution of that music. The experiences ,knowledge and the personality traits of a musician can coherently be understood when he or she is alive.

Secondly, every person is born with some talent ,we as individuals should strive to recognize that talent and work hard towards it and someday we will surely gain some success. Fame and popularity are directly proportional to the quality of work.Even if a musician is famous at a point and then the quality of his music degrades his popularity will soon decrease, but someone who always works hard towards his goal might initially not gain success but surely someday he will. For instance, A.R Rahman he is a renowed indian musician who started from nowhere ,had no connection to the music industry and today he holds one of the most prestigious award in the world i.e The Oscar for his work in Slumdog Millionaire.This shows us that with preserverance and humility we can achieve great heights.

Finally,people might argue that in todays digital world, due to a huge influence of media in our daily lives musicians are made famous by massive PR stunts instead of their actual music quality.There are a few examples to prove this point, but this examples are far and scarce.Even those examples fade away after couple of composition and albums and are forgotten even before they die, leave alone their work being appreciated by the coming generation.

In conclusion,every person possess unique talent.In the field of music this is prominent and the real talent can be accurately assessed from the work of artist and not by the fame which he or she achieves.Real talent will always find its way over the ephermeral fame and no matter what, life or death cannot articulate its value.