The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

There is a saying that "time is the true test of knowlegde". It can be inferred here that time is a true test of talent. The entertainment industry, particularly the music industry, is a complex and somewhat biased industry. The extent to which a musician's real talent can be evaluated is usually measured by how famous the musician is during his/her lifetime, but this may not be true in all cases and therefore, popularity cannot be used as a metric for a musician's talent.

Musician's such as Fela Kuti and Michael Jackson were very popular during their life time and this could have been an indication of how talented they were. However, they are still very much revered in the music industry and this shows that they have real talents. It would be argued that they were popular during their lifetime, which is true, but their fame could have belied their talents. For instance, there was a musician called Dabby D, who died in 1997 and she is rarely heard of, but it is said that she was quite popular during her lifetime. In the case of Dabby D, her fame could have made people thought that she was talented. But her name nor music is rarely heard of.

Moreover, it can be argued that the number of awards a musician recieves during his lifetime could be used to tell how talented the musician is. Bu the awards given to musicians as a sign of how talented they are during their lifetime cannot be trusted because most of these awards are bought and there given to musicians who can afford it. During their lifetime, these award would be referred to to indicate that a musician is more talented than another. However, after their death, when their wealth cannot influence people's judgement, their names and music are not heard of not posed as important in the music industry.

However, despite that true talent can be assessed mostly after death, there are cases when a musician's true talent can be assessed during their lifetime. Most talented musicians are popular during their lifetime. For instance, Ashake, has been topping the bill board since he started releasing music in 2019 till date. This consistency cannot be achieved if he were not truly talented.

In conclusion, talented musicians are usually popular during and after their lifetime. And in most cases, a talented musician is usually popular during their lifetime and remembered after death. Therefore, it would be more reasonable to assess a musician's true talent after they are long gone because, by then, their person would not influence people's judgement and only their music would speak for them.