The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Talent is subjective; what one defines as a talent in one century may become commonplace in the next. Although this stance may be a vague, on-the-fence one, it is at the very root of the claim. When we speak of assessing the 'real' talent of a musician, we must first consider the subjectivity of their talents. Fame is more quantifiable, and possibly can be, in fact, used as a metric when evaluating one's talent; how else would one become so famous? Incredibly rare do talentless musicians become popular.

In the field of music, talent could be defined in objective ways, such as the ability to be pitch-perfect, the degree to which the musician can transform sung songs into chords and notes for an instrument, their speed and musical cadence- but there's also many subjective aspects. How relatable is their music? Does it make a common person feel what the artist feels? This leads us to another argument, that the tastes of the 'common person' would be quite fluid through the decades; we often attribute certain sounds to different decades, like the 80's and the 2000's. There is also a lot of discussion about how some people feel that they connect more with older music, and this generally leads to a lot of online debate, due to the ways in which this is viewed as such people looking down upon the current mainstream music trends.

Hence, we must take into account who the evaluator is for such an assessment. Is the evaluator a fan? How would they gauge 'real' talent? The transience in the genres of popular music (and associated musicians) over the decades can also be interpreted as a change in what people consider as real talent. So, evaluating a viral song of the 2010's like, for instance, 'Shape of You' by Ed Sheeran, may lead to wildly different results in the decades to come, also depending on the critics who are assessing it. In fact, we've seen a shift in how people perceive Sheeran, from adoring his music and fawning over his talent when the song was viral, to now not caring much for his music, outside of his core fanbase.

So far, we've gone over how popular music trends meander through genres over the decades, and how talent is subjective. A tiny thing to keep in mind would also be: What if a musician gets involved in criminal acts, and is then severely punished by contemporary critics, who may, at this point, find a different interpretation (that may be associated with crime, etc.) of their musical works? This would be hard to navigate, as it deals with the true intentions and undertones behind the musical works in question.

Hence, assessments of a popular musician's 'real talent' would be a rather continuous process, than a discrete one. A musician's talent evolves over time, and waiting for several years to judge them would not take into account the way in which the contemporary audience appreciates or perceives them.