Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Are scandals useful since they focus out attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could as speaker asserts? In many cases scandals plays pivotal role in exposing out the root problems of the society; however, in some cases these piece of information turn the focus of people out of main activities. I mostly agree with issue for three reasons.

To begin with, in some cases the rapt attention of general public towards such material stemmed other major activities. In another words, the society give more emphasis to the sensational news and material then their routine duty. For instance, the exclusive focus of the media and other social activists towards the venality of the state minister overshadows important news of country's winning gold medal in the regional cup; ultimately the slander made upon the minister was debunked by the supreme court. This illustrates, when media as well as other communication agency highlight sensational news some important achievement is obscured. People are always interested to the news that are piquant to them either that is verified or fabricated. Media's foremost intention is to generate revenue thus they primarily focus on such material other than those that need to forefront.

However, in most of the cases the shocking news have played positive role to the society and helped to eradicate some of the ill costumes of the society. For example, the Chhaupadi tradition is rooted in the far western region of the Nepal. In this tradition those girl and women on their monthly cycle are isolated to shade, usually in the abandoned house far from their home; the tradition has exacerbated the health of those victims and some were the pry of rape. However, when this tradition was brought upon as nation issue then it took different form. All the shades of those far western region were destroyed and strong law was enacted to the one who again pursue for such bad costumes. This illustrates the power of scandals in making the radical changes in the society and in the law and order of the country.

In addition, the scandals plays pivotal role in the strong awareness against some brutal action. For instances, the allegation made to the actors for his salacious behavior and sexual harassment to one of the side actor was so sensational that actor was sentenced for incarceration. This action become the inciting factor for other such voiced to be raised and within the single year many such cases were exposed which were hidden for years in fear of not getting justice. This sent the strong caveat to those ill mannered people who intends to involved in such activities.

In sum, in some cases such sensational activities can outshine other main activities of national concern, however, in most of the cases the society and the country as a whole is benefitted when rooted costumes traditions are exposed out in sensational form.