Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Many would assert that scandals have several beneficial effects on our societies. In some senses, it is undeniable that scandal can draw attention from the public effectively. Only by focusing on the merits of scandals does the view overlook the vices of scandals from the perspectives of ineffectiveness and privacy.

Admittedly, few would disagree that it is scandals that can inform urgent issues fastest. When it comes to the the pace that people notice issues, it is less ordinary article or pedestrian opinions in the newspapers than sandals that can immediately spread the events. When some politicians received unjust money using apple boxes from businessmen in Korea 20 years ago, the images of apple boxes with dollars could attract most Koreans’ eyes in a day as a historic political scandal, leading to reforming laws of politicians’ ethics which improved the Korean political environment. The point here is that difficult reformation, seemed to never start, can be triggered by scandals.

Nevertheless, it does not necessarily mean that scandals always enhance the integrity and justice of societies. Considering too much focusing on stories itself not solving the problems, scandals often fail to cure societal issues, even worsen the problems. In fact, the fake data issues from doctor hwang, Korean biologist, in which a group of biologists managed by doctor hwang fabricated results became the hottest issue; however, they brought about only minor changes in guidelines for scientists, consequently failing to preclude subsequent scandals. This indicates that scandals are not a perfect way to increase social integrity.

Moreover, scandal can be dissected through the lens of privacy. Rather than concentrating on revising our customs which are not relevant today, most of sex scandals, sadly, make a myriad of rumors about what the couple did or why they do that, causing the additional hurt on the victims. This also implies that emphasis on scandals should be reconsidered.

To sum up, despite a wisdom of scandals as a way to draw attentions, the ineffectiveness as a problem-solver and the side-effect of privacy denote that scandals do not always promote societal health. Taken together, I cannot fully agree with the speaker’s view. Only if we were to ignore the importance of ineffectiveness and side-effects of scandals, could we conclude that scandals are the panacea of all social problems.