Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure

to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Schools play a vital role in the overall development of the students. From what toddlers seem to be completely illiterate at the beginning, proper schooling can make them a responsible citizen of the country. Schools, though not literally, can be compared to the factory that uses less important raw materials to carve an utter brilliant product.

But, even though the curriculum of the school is meant to be beneficient for the students, there are some aspects which may dampen the students to be rather less "knowledgable" in certain places. For example, consider a school which is the best in the country and the students of which earn global reputation in terms of ingeniousness. Now, this school has well-prepared its children for the academic aspects to make its children excel anywhere they go, but it fails to teach them the non-academic aspects. This is what exactly should not happen. For any human to survive in this world, it is equally necessary for him/her to be aware of things that are used daily. For example, everybody should be aware of the basics of finance, economy, interests, investments, loans, etc. While in many schools, calculating the financial stuff is given more importance, it is equally important to be able to apply that in real life. Many educational institutions fail to hit the par in this context.

An eccentric comparison in this matter can make us believe that students are the hot iron or glass that can be moulded to give a shape while adults are the solidified iron that stick to a particular perspective or ideology. Schools should, therefore, be able to give proper guidance to the kids from the beginning that will help them in their adulthood. In the United States, almost everyday, we hear news about shootings, racial supremacy, drugs dealings, etc. Rather than ignoring these facts and just give the victims justice, these case studies should be taught in the schools so as to give a proper insight of the problems prevailing in the modern world, which should also be well-accompanied by proper explaination for why these should be avoided at all costs.

While all these are some of the measures to take education to a more appropriate level, these can have a negative impact on the young, brilliant and innocent minds too. For example, in the above paragraph if the students draw a cynic conclusion to bad deeds happening, it would mould them to a burden on the society. Things like these should be prevented at all costs. If schools succeed to adopt some similar techniques for preparing students for the non-academic aspects too, it would tend to bring more unity; people would be quite more practical in accepting and adopting good practices and also there would be a great balance of every individual in helping to develop this country, moreover this world in more than one aspects.

Therefore, I take a stance to agree with the fact the "schools should be doing more to educate the children in the non-academic aspects of adulthood". After all, it is going to benefit our children, our future generations into making this society smarter and thus a better place to live.