Schoolds should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when the school buildings are in repair.
Extra curricular activities such as sports and arts are equally important as education. In most of the institutions
we see that the latter gets preference over the another. This is why whenever any cost cutting activities like repairs of
building is done, fund cutting happens at the extracurricular level. I disagree with this idea of money being cut down
from the extracurricular activities as it is not fair for a student to not have opportunities in the field he is best in.
As rightly said, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.
A student can be intelligent, atheletic, creative or more than one of the above. There are students who are more talented
in Sports than they are in academics. For instance, we have many atheletes who brings respect and pride to the country but
have never shined in academics. If that chance of sports was compromised on , there is a good chance of that student not shining.
Artistic or creative students may shape into writers, dancers, singers or actors. But if their platform to increase their growth
is compromised , it is really not fair for creative students.
Furthermore, if the situation of the buildings are very critical, there are solutions to increase funding. For example,
there can be many fests organized where students can participate and generate funds by having science camps , food stalls,
creative products. This not only creates a platform for increasing funds but also teaches the students how to use their talent.
Now, there might be cases where the building condition is very risky and more funds are needed. In such cases if needed, little
funding can be cut from all three aspects: Education, Sports and Arts. Firstly the funds when cut from each fieds risks each field
a little less and in that way , there has been no compromise on the opportunity for any student.
Education, arts and sports are all equal and they all help for any individual or country to prosper.A student can be intelligent,
atheletic, creative and thus one should never favour one aspect over the other. Funding can be achieved in better efficient ways.